News

X Factor star Amelia Lily visits Oasis Academy on nationwide school tour.

 

Amelia Lily 004

 

By Hannah Al-Othman

PUPILS at Oasis Academy at MediaCityUK were in for a treat last Tuesday when X Factor finalist Amelia Lily visited the school to perform an acoustic set.

Lily performed three songs for students, including her hit singles You Bring Me Joy, and Shut Up (And Give Me Whatever You Got), as well as her new release Party Over.

Lily is currently touring schools nationwide to promote her album Be A Fighter, which is due for release on May 20.

She said: “I have been working on the album for the past year; I can’t wait for people to finally hear it.”

Lily added that she enjoys the school visits because they allow her to showcase her talents, and also give young fans the chance to get to know her.

She said: “It’s a good opportunity to do an acoustic set; it’s nice for me to show off my vocals.

“The children are shy at first, but I think that when they get to know me they can see that I’m a normal girl.”

Lily also took time to answer questions put to her by the children. They asked her about her rise to fame and her background.

She said: “I always wanted to be on the stage. I didn’t know whether I wanted to be a dancer, a singer, an actor or a musician, but then I discovered my strongest skill was singing.”

She also encouraged the young audience to believe in themselves, explaining that she lacked confidence when she was starting out.

She said: “I never believed in myself. I never planned on entering for the X Factor. My dad sent the application form off.”

The performance went down very well with the audience of Year 7 – 10 pupils.

Speaking after the concert Samantha Hawkins, 12, said: “It was awesome! People pay lots of money to see her in concert but we got to see her for free. Plus we missed out on boring lessons!”

Julia Chapman, 11, added: “It was really exciting. I think it’s very good that she’s given up her time to see us. I’d like to see One Direction play here too!”

Oasis Academy Principal Patrick Ottley-O’Connor said that he hoped the visit would raise students’ aspirations.

He said: “The message she gave was that you work hard and follow your dreams and you can make anything a reality, and that’s an important message.”

Leave a Reply

